Be the change you want to see.

“I find I’m so excited I can barely sit still or hold a thought in my head.
I think it’s an excitement only a free man can feel.
A free man at the start of a long journey whose conclusion is uncertain.”

-Red, Shawshank Redemption.

After waiting two long years, I get to do one of the three things I absolutely love- Teach as a fellow in Teach For India – Bangalore.

I don’t teach because I know more, I teach to learn, and teach to see the joy of something,it’s beauty, it’s simplicity, it’s basics.
I teach hoping that the person learning from me discovers that joy.

Everything has something good about it. I want to teach, because I believe it’s not only important to do well, but to do good.

I teach because I have some of the best Teachers in the world, and I know what a difference it can make to the way you
think and who you are.

If I’ve ever taught you or been taught by you, a subject, a lesson, a move, anything at all, I want to thank you,
because you helped me discover a great part of myself, and I am a reflection of you.
I teach becuase it helps me grow.

I teach because its the most challenging job I’ve come across.I have no idea if I am cut out for this, if I am good at it,
or if I will even survive, but it will get nothing less than my best.

I teach because, simply put, it’s makes me happy and it’s the best version of myself.

I teach, hoping to bring technology closer to education. Being an engineer doesn’t mean a ticket to a good salary, it means the power to change.
It may not be my best skill, but it’s the skill I treasure the most.

I love our country in a way I cannot express, and I believe that we as Indians possess a rare instinct to survive and hope.
I am not blind to our flaws as a nation, but I think that the next ten years is crucial for us, and we need the younger generation to
recognise the potential of our nation, and be soldiers of our progress, so I literally want to Teach ‘for’ India.

I believe that every kid, can change the world with his/her dream if given a chance.
So I decided to start with one class. I know this journey will be particularly challenging because the face of Indian education, has a long road of change ahead, but I think we can all contribute, in little ways.

If you have any ideas, experience, or just want to help out in anyway,just reach out to me. I am willing to take all the help and lend as much as needed.

For those who don’t understand my decision, you only make me love my purpose that much more, and for all of you who have pushed me to where I am, I hope I do justice to you

Hoping for the best.

Jai Hind.

Leave a comment